Tragedy struck on the I-405 on Aug. 29, when an Chevrolet Tahoe collided with a Tesla in the carpool lane, severely injuring one 13-year-old girl and killing her 7-year-old sister. Both of the young girls were riding in the backseat of the car when when the SUV swerved into the carpool lane, connecting with their vehicle and compounding the damages by pushing it into a Honda Civic.
School is back in session across the country, meaning thousands of children throughout California and beyond will be piling into school buses every day, putting their physical safety in the hands of a bus driver. While you may not be able to be on the bus every day to ensure that your child is in the care of a competent, caring driver, you can educate your child on the risk factors that increase the chances of unsafe driving. This way, your child can keep from contributing to the danger of other passengers and inform you if he or she sees any unsafe behavior on the part of the bus driver.
It is common sense that driving a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol is always a dangerous proposition, and in many cases leads to property damage, personal injury, or death. Still, each state maintains standards for the amount of alcohol that is allowed in a person's bloodstream before getting behind the wheel is considered illegal. For drivers who are operating a vehicle that requires a commercial driver's license, the regulations are much stricter.
California is often considered to be at the cutting edge of progressive legislation, and is often among the first states to formally recognize or legalize practices long before the rest of the country catches up. The practice of motorcyclists engaging in lane splitting is only the latest to receive the Golden State's official treatment. State assembly members recently passed legislation giving the California Highway Patrol the power to formally determine how motorists may safely and legally practice lane splitting.
In wrongful death suits, there is a statute of limitations that governs how long after the death a claim can be pursued. If the statute of limitations has run out on your particular claim, there are still ways you can pursue justice for the loss of your loved one. To extend the time frame of the claim, you may either request that the court waive the limit, or request that the opposing part waive the limit, or use circumstances to toll the statute.